Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 41 Next >>
Topic: Uhmmm. . . . ? (Now with FREE Art Lessons from Erik Larsen!) (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 20 March 2013 at 3:24pm | IP Logged | 1  

Agree with Larsen or no, like his work or not, he has a thirty-odd year career (as long as Harlan Ellison's when he dared criticize Star Wars), hundreds of comics under his belt, and co-founded one of the currently most successful mainstream publishers. He'd be qualified to instruct at art college, so I think he's within critical bounds to talk shit on his Facebook page. Yeah, his work sucks, but so does most of Harlan Ellison's. So does most of everyone's. I know I'm not technically qualified to dislike Ellison's work, but John Gardner also hated it, and Ellison himself agreed Gardner was qualified.

Edited by David Miller on 20 March 2013 at 3:30pm
Back to Top profile | search | www e-mail

Wilson Mui
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 20 March 2013 at 3:25pm | IP Logged | 2  

Brian Lewis said "[Larsen] didn't imply it, others here decided to infer it."

========

If you know the history between the two, you would understand what Larsen is saying.

1) Larsen has said something similar on his own forum.  Responding to a comment about one of JB's Hulk commissions, Larsen said JB doesn't "give a shit" about tangents because he does not want to redraw anything.

2) In another instance, Larsen said he does not like JB as a human being.  (When asked why, he said it was upset that JB didn't answer his questions properly when he was a member of this forum.)

Edited by Wilson Mui on 20 March 2013 at 3:39pm
Back to Top profile | search

Frank Gurstelle
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 20 March 2013 at 3:32pm | IP Logged | 3  

QUOTE: