Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 41 Next >>
Topic: Uhmmm. . . . ? (Now with FREE Art Lessons from Erik Larsen!) (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 20 March 2013 at 11:15am | IP Logged | 1  

As an artist myself I welcome constructive critiques from other students and teachers, but I would never criticize my teachers, well, at least not publicly.

John has said before he doesn't mind constructive criticism,

but Erik seems to take it to the next level, he makes it personal.

I think some fans are up in arms because Erik is the last person to correct John on human anatomy.

Out of all of artists that have come before and after John, why pick on his art and composition time and time again to deface?

Seems childish to me.

Back to Top profile | search

Greg Woronchak
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 20 March 2013 at 11:20am | IP Logged | 2  

Considering the tight deadlines (moreso in the pre-'roses' era), it doesn't surprise me (or bother me, as a consumer) if any pro makes a rare 'mistake'.
Back to Top profile | search | www e-mail

Nathan Greno
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 20 March 2013 at 11:36am | IP Logged | 3  

Greg: Considering the tight deadlines (moreso in the pre-'roses' era), it doesn't surprise me (or bother me, as a consumer) if any pro makes a rare 'mistake'.

--

I agree. When you work as a professional artist, a big part of the job is hitting deadlines. You do the best job you can in the time you're given. There will be artistic mistakes -- there will be criticism of the completed work.

Robbie Parry
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 20 March 2013 at 11:51am | IP Logged | 4  

I agree that Larsen makes it sound personal. I think what he is doing is wrong, anyway, but if it didn't sound so personal, I'd give him the benefit of the doubt. His behaviour makes it sound like he's got an axe to grind.