Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 41 Next >>
Topic: Uhmmm. . . . ? (Now with FREE Art Lessons from Erik Larsen!) (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 16 March 2013 at 4:58pm | IP Logged | 1  

Yes i think it was one of John Romita's Sr jobs Robert.
Back to Top profile | search

Brennan Voboril
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 16 March 2013 at 6:34pm | IP Logged | 2  

"Nothing Erik has said is malicious."

Really?  Check Larsen's Twitter feed sometime.  He spends an awful lot of time banging on JB and if it was just art criticism it would be different I suppose but it seems personal and obsessive.  He reminds me of a jilted fan who felt because he is a fan he had some sort of special relationship with the artist.  It is creepy if you ask me.

Even the art criticism seems odd to me.  I am not an artist (drafting is about as close as I came) but Larsen slams JB's art but lets Liefeld's alone? 

Steve Ogden
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 16 March 2013 at 8:40pm | IP Logged | 3  

Benny, what Larsen said and did ("correcting" art) was malicious. Not only was it malicious it was unprofessional and disrespectful.

Larsen is not that good of an artist to go around "correcting" any professional artist.  Really, he should keep his mouth shut and his "art lessons" to himself.

I feel fairly certain that Neal Adams and John Byrne have forgotten more things about being an artist than Larsen will ever know. If Larsen loves comics like you say he does, then you would agree that if you love and respect something you appreciate and respect what has come before, respect and support fellow professionals (especially ones that are much better artist than you). Clearly, Larsen does none of this and what has Larsen really done for this medium compared to his "students", John Byrne and Neal Adams?
Back to Top profile | search e-mail