Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 3 Next >>
Topic: Meeting deadlines = more skill? (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 29 March 2012 at 8:12pm | IP Logged | 1  

I have long maintained that "modern technology" has served to make us SLOWER.

SER: I often make this argument regarding cell phones. Prior to people generally being reachable at all times, if you made an appointment with someone, you stuck to it. It irks me to get the "be there in 5" text messages or the "why don't we try this restaurant instead?" e-mails.
Back to Top profile | search | www

Carmen Bernardo
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 30 March 2012 at 5:00am | IP Logged | 2  

Some very interesting points raised here, and several that more or less remind me of why I'm not a comicbook professional today...

I was one of those fans who used to think that it'd be a neat job to have to be drawing the X-Men, Spider-Man, etc for what was (in 1987 $$) about 43 bucks a page.  It never occured to me that meeting deadlines were a big factor in the business, even when they had it in writing on a printed page.  Then something happened: I grew up.

In recent days, I've seen examples of people who didn't become adults somehow making it in the business, and proceeding to botch the job they had landed.  Having been on the receiving end of their laziness or stupidity, I can relate a bit to what some readers and the (more professional) editors and managers must've felt about the situation.  You don't see too many of these around any more, do you?