Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
Commissioned Artwork
Byrne Robotics > Commissioned Artwork << Prev Page of 11
Topic: Rooftop Rumble Redux - 06.19.10 (finished image on Pg 2) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 22 June 2010 at 2:51pm | IP Logged | 1 post reply

yes, I'm that Larry Varvel.  Peter David immortalized me as the pastor of the Methodist Church in Leesburg, but I'm actually a Methodist pastor in Broken Arrow, OK.  John Byrne was my absolute favorite artist in high school and college and is still one of my absolute favorites of all time.  T
Back to Top profile | search e-mail

James F Stewart
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 22 June 2010 at 4:09pm | IP Logged | 2 post reply

JB - When you worked at Marvel, did they ever take advantage of your talent in inking?  This piece is a work of true art.  Awesome inking and I love how you made Sandman's shirt and the others clothes have that wrinkle feel to it.
Back to Top profile | search

Rich Cirillo
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 22 June 2010 at 8:09pm | IP Logged | 3 post reply

There's A Lot to Love about this piece!!! Great concept idea! Bats and Spidey always had the most interesting villains (along with IMO Dick Tracy's Rogue Gallery!). First thing I noticed about this was it looked like they were fighting on Spidey's turf, as JB usually draws Gotham differently. I guess the flip- rematch of Spidey vs Bat's Villains would play out in Gotham!

Just wondering JB if you have ever considered any cross over confrontations that you haven't had the opportunity to draw up until this point. I'm sure the possibilities are endless, but is there one that has crossed your mind for some time?

Marc M. Woolman
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 22 June 2010 at 10:39pm | IP Logged | 4 post reply