Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 14 Next >>
Topic: The Quesada Age.. (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 08 February 2010 at 9:12pm | IP Logged | 1  

Don't forget Panini. After all, what comic company doesn't need an Italian sticker company.
Back to Top profile | search e-mail

James Malone
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 08 February 2010 at 9:21pm | IP Logged | 2  

Both Brians, i think you are right. Particularly about distribution.

I did my MBA case study on MRV's banko, but this was 9 years ago and I think I am starting to forget the details.

Brian Miller
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 08 February 2010 at 9:41pm | IP Logged | 3  

I just read a pretty in-depth article about this somewhere, but I can't remember where.
Back to Top profile | search

Jason Czeskleba
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 08 February 2010 at 11:05pm | IP Logged | 4  

Joe Hollon wrote:
Price increases have actually slowed over the more recent time spans.

Percentage increase doesn't seem like a particularly useful way to compare price history.  It stands to reason that as the base price of a product gets higher, the percentage increase will tend to be less each time the price is raised.  We also have to remember that the relatively rapid rate of price inflation in the 70's and early 80's was itself a correction of the fact that comics had gone 30+ years with almost no price increases.  To some degree the prices shot up fast because they were catching up with everything else.

Matthew McCallum
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 08 February 2010 at 11:14pm | IP Logged | 5  

Jeff,

I'll see if I can dig up some more recent financials, but things likely aren't very different since this snapshot: