Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 31 Next >>
Topic: Has the internet ruined comics? (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member
FAQ Master Supreme

Posted: 30 August 2006 at 1:36pm | IP Logged | 1  

It is worth noting that JB does not paint himself in a 100% positive light in his description of the incident. He lost his temper and said so ("I threw a fit," "on the verge of having a stroke") and even admitted that he tripped over a chair, which is not the kind of detail an egotistical liar would include. These are the words of an honest man.

I have been hanging out on JB-related boards for 9-10 years now, and I have never known him to say anything he knows to be untrue. I have no opinion about PAD. If I look at both descriptions, it seems to me that he made a mistake -- maybe intentionally, maybe by accident -- but either way his version of the events serves to present him in the best possible light. That's natural, I suppose. Maybe PAD believes his recollection to be 100% true or maybe he knows he is fudging the details. Since JB and PAD are the only witnesses who have come forward, they are the only ones who know for sure.

Alpha Flight #12 still rocked. For the record, I had no idea that Guardian would die.

Back to Top profile | search | www e-mail

Howard Mackie
Byrne Robotics Security
Armed and Dangerous

Posted: 30 August 2006 at 1:47pm | IP Logged | 2  

<<You were a superstar in 1984.  You were a top-notch,
sizzlin' hot, high selling creator.  This is not to say
you aren't now, but I mean in the eyes of the major
publishers this is who you were at the time.
Now, let's say an editor makes a bad decision that has
infuriated the # 1 creator at the company at the time. 
Knowing that DC would welcome this creator with open
arms, is he going to take the blame, possibly ticking off