Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 7 Next >>
Topic: "...let’s not do any of that!" Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 05 February 2021 at 12:32pm | IP Logged | 1 post reply

"Many years ago, at a con, I was confronted by a retailer who demanded that Marvel should produce more “guaranteed hits”.Not sure how he thought anybody could do that, but I told him that as a retailer it was HIS job to SELL PRODUCT."

After spending years selling services and products it was a simple vision:
If you're going to sell something in your store, you need to offer it to the consumer in a compelling way. That's the retailer's half of the bargain.
Back to Top profile | search

Rick Whiting
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 05 February 2021 at 7:05pm | IP Logged | 2 post reply

Well, I'm no expert on current comics ... but ...

- "Re-unique" the characters ; get rid of the Red Hulks, Yellow Hulks, Spider-Gwens, Spider-Verse, 1,000,000 BC Avengers - more and more of the same idea just stops your core characters being special ;
- Stop trying to be the cinema ; comics are not the movies
- Bin the grim & gritty for good - and get us back to something more optimistic ;
- Give us fabulous exploits and heroism, truly titanic battles and mayhem - but as fantasy grounded in realism, not some real world warzone.
- Marvel heroes have feet of clay, but not ( to paraphrase JB - I think ? ) all the way up to their necks. And stop twisting stuff so that 'authority' figures like Xavier or Reed or whoever else has to be some untrustworthy piece of work
- Stop re-heating every previous idea and replaying it in some other hero's book
- For god's sake, kill the ***ing Phoenix off - else everyone on Earth will have had a turn before long
- Less 'Events' and more stories
- And bring back the fun there used to be.