Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
Star Trek
Byrne Robotics > Star Trek << Prev Page of 2
Topic: CBS Kills Star Trek Stage 9 Fan Project Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 30 September 2018 at 1:49pm | IP Logged | 1 post reply

So what if another STAR TREK fan who is not a JBF member (and not a comic artist by trade) independently got the idea to use his mad photoshop skills to make new stories using stills taken from DVD and decides to publish these as three-panel web photocomics on his own site?   At this point ST:NV isn't even a thing yet, JB is still giving JBF members a peek at what kind of hijinks he gets up to in his free time.  Months pass ST:NV then goes into production and the home office later discovers the fan's page with the web comics.

óó

If it was being published as a web comic, I think it would have been shut down regardless of whether ST:NV was in production or not. 
Back to Top profile | search

Greg Kirkman
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 30 September 2018 at 9:49pm | IP Logged | 2 post reply

Important note, here: Iím not saying that fan projects necessarily have a right to exist, nor that copyright holders are somehow stepping out of line by taking legal action to shut them down. 

Iím just asking the questionóWhere is the line drawn, here? When do fan productions stray too far, and, on the flipside, when do corporations come across as Goliath unnecessarily beating down David rather than merely protecting their assets?

I donít really have an answer, myself. However, Iím interested in seeing what yíall have to say. And, of course, JB has worked on actual licensed STAR TREK products for CBS, so he has an insiderís perspective.