Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
TV
Byrne Robotics > TV
Topic: THE PRISONER - Original Art Edition Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Imaginary X-Man

Posted: 24 July 2018 at 11:50am | IP Logged | 1 post reply

An oversized hard cover volume, in the fashion of IDW's Artists Editions, but this time from Titan.

Slim, as it contains only two comics (and some padding), the first illustrated by Jack Kirby, the second by Gil Kane. I'd seen some of the Kirby pages before, but this is my first time seeing more than the first page of the Kane job.

It's a study in contrasts. Like the SPACE ODESSEY adaptation it's fascinating to see Kirby apply his style to something he did not create or design. He slides easily into the Village. His likeness of Patrick Magoohan is quite good, employing a minimum of lines.

Kane's is somehow more oridinary. Detailed and fluid, as is to be expected, but somehow cold. Unlike Kirby's version, there are no "Now that's cool!" moments. Still, most instructive.

Altogether, recommended.

Be seeing you!

Back to Top profile | search

Rebecca Jansen
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 24 July 2018 at 12:31pm | IP Logged | 2 post reply

I've seen a few bits of both too, interesting they can now be seen more or less in full. Thank you for the heads up!

Robbie Parry
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 25 July 2018 at 4:02am | IP Logged | 3 post reply

Thanks for the heads-up from me, too. Quite the fan of the series.

Incidentally, someone didn't quite believe me when I told them 17 episodes were made. They Googled it (I did know for sure, I own the series on DVD). I suppose 17 sounds like an odd number in a world where most shows had multiple seasons - and where even one-season wonders had 20+ episodes.

Steven Brake
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 25 July 2018 at 9:54am | IP Logged | 4 post reply