Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
Dr. Who
Byrne Robotics > Dr. Who
Topic: Self-Deprecating Seventh Doctor Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 27 June 2018 at 2:45pm | IP Logged | 1 post reply

Having rewatched a lot of Seventh Doctor adventures over the last 3-4 years, I am not as enamoured with them as I was.

They are entertaining in their own way. I love "The Greatest Show In The Galaxy"; "Survival" is a lot of fun; and despite its complex plot, I enjoy "Ghost Light" (I had to watch it twice). I'm not saying there's anything inherently bad with Sylvester McCoy's Doctor.

It's just, and this is the only way I can articulate it, there's something a bit too self-deprecating about his Doctor. I'm not really good at articulating things, but that's how I see it. 

There's nothing wrong with fun, but I think self-deprecation can be taken too far. And at times, I felt it was hard to work out whether the Seventh Doctor was simply a self-deprecating incarnation or Sylvester McCoy was too self-deprecating in the role (in a "wink at the audience" way). 

Can anyone make sense of the gibberish above?
Back to Top profile | search

Ted Downum
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 28 June 2018 at 8:33am | IP Logged | 2 post reply

I think I follow you, Mr. Parry!

You've lit upon one of the major problems of the McCoy era (there were several)...the fact that the Doctor's character never quite came into focus. He started as a more clownish figure in less serious stories, and then he got darker, and the stories got better...and then the series was cancelled.

My sense was always that the less serious interpretation was more in line with McCoy's inclinations as an actor, though he was convincing enough as the "master manipulator" in some of the later stories (like The Curse of Fenric, a favorite of mine).

Robbie Moubert
Byrne Robotics Member
Evertonian

Posted: 28 June 2018 at 5:51pm | IP Logged | 3 post reply