Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum Page of 2 Next >>
Topic: If Marvel Comics Had Been Formed In The 1930s... Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 12 May 2018 at 9:49am | IP Logged | 1 post reply

Trevor Thompson did a great topic here (thanks, Trevor):

I thought asking the opposite question might be interesting.

What if the likes of the FF, Spider-Man, Hulk and so many others had debuted in, say, 1938 or 1939? How different would their origins have been?

I'm not an expert on fiction from the 1930s, but, during that era, and well before, there certainly seemed to be scientists, good and bad, injecting themselves, messing around with compounds, experimenting on themselves and others. Perhaps a Reed Richards, circa 1939, might have injected himself with something that gave him powers (we'd have to assume the rest of the FF were willing volunteers, too).

Ditto Bruce Banner. No gamma radiation, just experimentation in a lab.

Would Tony Stark have been a WWII soldier who got to develop his armour on the battlefield?

Spider-Man is an interesting one. I can't think of an origin for him in that period - let's assume radiation wasn't heavily featured - so perhaps someone else has an idea.

Gods like Thor have pretty timeless origins.

Would Doctor Doom have been on the side of the Axis or Allies? Or would Latveria have remained neutral? 

Would mutants have been seen as cannon fodder and been the first to be conscripted?

Looking forward to everyone's imagination running wild!

Edited by Robbie Parry on 12 May 2018 at 9:50am
Back to Top profile | search

John Byrne
Grumpy Old Guy

Posted: 12 May 2018 at 9:56am | IP Logged | 2 post reply

This is an odd question, since Marvel's forefather, Timely, DOES date from that period. Are you proposing a "what if the FF fought in WW2" scenario?

Robbie Parry
Byrne Robotics Member