Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum Page of 4 Next >>
Topic: Archeology in Comics (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Grumpy Old Guy

Posted: 28 July 2013 at 6:32am | IP Logged | 1  

Julie Schwartz used to refer to the writers who turned constantly to the Past for their inspiration as "archeologists". And he wasn't being flattering.

Over the past several years I have started to think American superhero comics have gone too far in this direction. So much "deconstruction" and burrowing into past storylines. One writer I know, who used to be among the best, now seems almost paralyzed if he cannot do stories that "fix" things. Often things in no need of fixing!

Probably about ten years ago, I started playing in my mind a little game of What If? about this. If I was EiC at Marvel or DC (to reiterate, a job I DO NOT want!) how would I address this? I decided I would probably hand down a Rule that stated no story could refer to any issue/story published more than a year ago (occasional flashbacks to origins being the obvious exception). And after a couple of years of that, I might even tighten the Rule and make it six months.

There is, after all, no need for the latest appearance of the Joker or Doctor Doom to refer to previous appearances beyond the simple acknowledgment that there have BEEN previous appearances. The constant listing of previous encounters plays altogether too much to the anal fanboy mentality -- it's ALL REAL and it must ALL be constantly in play. This leads to the paralyzing inability to get past the idea that Batman has fought the Joker "hundreds" of times. Which requires a lot of time to have passed. And leads to questions like "Why doesn't Batman kill the Joker?" Both very destructive concepts!