Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 41 Next >>
Topic: Uhmmm. . . . ? (Now with FREE Art Lessons from Erik Larsen!) (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 18 March 2013 at 12:23am | IP Logged | 1  

Andrew  W. Farago wrote:
...Anyone here ever go to art school?...

I'm pretty certain that JB did.

Andrew wrote:
... I majored in studio art in college, and we had weekly portfolio reviews during senior year where the professors would critique a piece, students would weigh in, too, and I got my ego crushed flat every single week.  I became a much better artist over the course of those critiques, which were absolutely brutal, but educational.  The critiques that Larsen posted would have been downright positive amidst the ones my professors doled out...

So...

You are suggesting that Erik Larsen is the "professor" and JB, the "student"? -- That Larsen is "schooling" JB, and that he should accept this as an education?
Back to Top profile | search | www

Andrew W. Farago
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 18 March 2013 at 12:56am | IP Logged | 2  

Is completely missing my point something that you're able to do automatically, or are you putting a concerted effort into it?  I'm trying to get a sense of how many people who felt that Larsen was being particularly harsh have been through art critiques themselves before.

And Larsen wouldn't be a "professor," in this case, I'd guess he's a fellow student.  Maybe some punk, know-it-all freshman who's poking shots at an upperclassman, but both of them have been working professionally for decades.   
Back to Top profile | search | www e-mail

Lars Johansson
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 18 March 2013 at 1:30am | IP Logged | 3  

Lars, could you explain that comment, sir?

''''''

No, beause I think nobody understood the "zen" of that seven little shit statement.