Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum
Byrne Robotics > The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 41 Next >>
Topic: Uhmmm. . . . ? (Now with FREE Art Lessons from Erik Larsen!) (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Grumpy Old Guy

Posted: 16 March 2013 at 12:55pm | IP Logged | 1  

I'm not an artist, but doesn't the correction create a triangle that pops out at you? I thought the whole point of avoiding tangents is to not have your art look like puzzle pieces.

••

The main reason to avoid tangents -- and the very thing that Larsen seems not to understand in terms of just what a "tangent" IS -- is to avoid flattening out an image by causing objects that are on different planes to appear to touch, rather than simply overlap.

And, sure, everybody slips from time to time. I've done it, Neal's done it, obviously Larsen has done it. But what an utterly pointless exercise it is to drag out old examples of an artist's work and show the "tangents" to be found in it -- especially when most are not actually tangents, AND when, in so doing, the "instructor" creates tangents that were not there to begin with!!

Back to Top profile | search

Benny Hasa
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 16 March 2013 at 1:19pm | IP Logged | 2  

Hmm.

I'm 28 and have been reading comics since I was around 5 years old. Growing up to who I am today, there are 5 major names that matter to me in the world of comics. Stan Lee, Jack Kirby, John Byrne, Erik Larsen, and John Romita Jr. These guys practically raised the bar for me in terms of what I read and it's hard to top.

I love your work JB. I have no problems with what Erik is saying about tangents. I don't. Otherwise, why would I spend thousands of dollars on commissions? Your work is as great as ever and you continue to top yourself.